h1

4th of July Flags Have To Be Made in America!

July 3, 2011

On Friday I was driving through a local neighborhood and was pleased to see that 3 out of 4 houses had flags out in celebration of our independence.  It reminded me that I’d yet to buy one for our place although I’d been intent on doing so for months.  Just like most aspects of my life I waited until the last-minute and just knew I’d be stressed when it came to finding one that was actually made in the USA.  As I racked my brain I remembered that over Memorial Day Weekend I had snapped the photo below to the left at a local Vons store to remind me to go back and buy one.  I was extremely pleased to see that the flags they sold were manufactured in America seeing as so many others I’d come across were disturbingly made in China, as is everything else (that rant shall have to wait for a future post).

My flags!

My Flags

Flags made in the USA

I love how "Made in U.S.A" is prominently displayed.

I didn’t find these flags at the first Vons location I went to on Friday but was happy that the one I’d originally seen them over Memorial Day had brought them back.  As if being made in America weren’t enough, in comparison to the price in the picture, I only paid $1.99 for 2 medium-sized ones and $1.99 for 4 small ones.

Who says you can’t get a good price on American made merchandise?   Annin Flagmakers are the manufacturers of these flags and according to their website, they are the “Oldest and Largest Maker of Flags in the United States since 1847”.  Every flag that they make comes from one of their facilities in New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Ohio or Virginia.  Just another great American company to buy from!

So for all of you who are last minute like me, you still have a chance to show your patriotism. Go to a Vons or Pavilions location near you before you head out to celebrate with family and friends or on your way to watch fireworks and remember that buying American can make a difference.

America! America!
God shed his grace on thee
And crown thy good with brotherhood
From sea to shining sea!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. So glad you did a post on this! It’s really sad how many items there are for sale to celebrate the fourth made in China! There are so many American made options out there to find!


    • Another 4th has passed and I didn’t even see this comment until now! My sincerest apologies! I couldn’t agree more that American patriotic items made in China are everywhere and it is quite saddening. I know that many Americans feel this way but I wish that more made the effort to find American made items. That’s the only way we can make a difference.



Leave a comment